for the SANDRINE

I Miss Holga

Are you a fan of Lomography in Facebook? You saw the word “Facebook”. Don’t worry this one’s not about that site again. Anyway, if you do not know what Lomography is—which I doubt—just visit this.

Although it’s expensive (here in the Philippines Lomo cameras cost about PhP 5,000, films with 12 shots Php 200, film processing Php 150) I still tried it. I have an orange Holga and here’s one of my favourite shots:

I got so interested with the pictures taken from Lomo cams. I liked it because it seems so natural unlike digicams. You can do a lot of things on it too; double exposure is one. Plus I loved the feeling of suspense since you couldn’t view your shots right then and there. It would take a week for LBC to deliver it to you.

But ever since I got busy and my money went scarce, I wasn’t able to continue using my Holga anymore. Too bad.  Good thing Lomo started to join Facebook. From time to time, I look at the shots taken by different lomographers in the world. It keeps my passion for photography burning.

If you love something (or someone) and you can’t have it, world wide web makes it come to you. And as my thoughts went on, I realized even if this new social media is driving us faster to the future it also ties us up with our past. Old pictures and memories remind us of the good old days.

2 responses

  1. Everything that goes online is permanent. It is one of the things I learned in the OC 152 class. And the good side of it is that we have a record of the things that happen in the past. The internet has become a huge history book of everything. A portfolio, diary, photo album, records of the things that happened in our lives. And it is good to know that we can always have a means to look back to where we started and how we used to be before. The sad thing is that if we don’t like the image or events that happened in the past, it is still there to remind us of the thing we want to forget. As OrCom people, it is not enough to manage our online footprints, rather, it is also important to live well since anybody can make a record of anyone not only in the internet, but in the hearts and minds of the people we socialize.

    September 28, 2010 at 4:05 pm

  2. If you love something (or someone) and you can’t have it, world wide web makes it come to you. – This is so true. The web even makes it come to you even if you don’t want to, hence my entry on defriending “unwanted” people, like exes. Hahaha.

    It is nice to see how new social media plays the role of a passion-burner. In the fast and often fleeting times of today, it is very hard to find inspiration outside. Unlike in the old times, people just needed to look outside their windows and inspiration is there. But now, with people’s attention spans getting smaller and smaller, it is very hard to keep being inspired. Thanks to NSM, people anywhere can share their passions and keep those flames burning. 🙂

    September 30, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

