for the SANDRINE

I read my love life on Facebook.

These past few days were different. Since I dug into someone’s Facebook wall on Tuesday, nothing seemed to get into my nerves. I’m too happy to have the bad vibes.

It was a Tuesday night and I was supposed to maximize my time doing my thesis. However, I spent about 20 minutes clicking someone’s “older posts” until I reached the August 2009 posts. After reading all of it I suddenly felt the world was giving us clues as to what will happen. I mean, it’s like seeing the world or Facebook taking control of our destiny, our present, with those daily horoscopes and messages from God. It’s like Facebook was really talking to us—answering us based on our status messages. (What the hell am I saying?)  Anyway, it’s just amazing to see how even Facebook itself seemed to take part in what has happened in the past few months. It makes me wonder if those Facebook applications really operate randomly because it’s almost always accurate.

But it does control us. It’s not only Facebook– a lot of websites have this power of getting our attention once we are online. Personally, I don’t have any addictions online. Hehe. However, I see a lot of products here that I really wanna buy– wrist watch, shoes, etc.

For us OrCom people, I think we should not let the internet control us this way. We have knowledge on how to use different media effectively. We also know what different kinds of people want to see and hear. Let’s use this knowledge. Take advantage of it. I know you know how to do that. But here are a few reminders:

1)      Don’t believe everything you see on the screen.  We all have experiences of disappointment after getting our orders from online.

2)      Think before you add it to your cart. Do you really need it? Is this the best deal you have?

3)      Time is gold. Is this really worth your time? I think this is important for OrCom people. We are used to having our home works done an hour before the deadline. We have to improve our attitude regarding this. I’m sure a lot of us are panicking for the 7, 8, 9, 10 backlogs that we still have. And Facebook is one of the culprits!

Define few. Hehe!  I believe you know what to do anyway. Again, we all know the strengths of the new social media and we are aware of human beings’ weaknesses. We should use it as our advantage and not be victims of these. As a person with an OrCom hat, we should not let the internet control us.

2 responses

  1. Hi Sandz! 🙂 I like what you said that it’s like Facebook is already taking control of our destiny. Didn’t we all have been curious as to what God will say to you this day, or whom will be married to, or who misses you today and who loves you today? At one point or another, all of us had that tingling curiosity that pushed us to click on that button. Horoscopes, funny jokes, book or movie quotes – we all have those applications that seem interesting to us. But as you said, we must not let these Facebook applications, and other forms of the new social media dictate how our lives will turn out. Wearing our Orcom hat, we must not forget that NSM are the tools – not the makers of our destiny. 🙂

    September 28, 2010 at 8:52 am

  2. Facebook really takes our time. We don’t realize it but we already spent hours in facebook actually doing nothing. And most of the time, i forget that my initial purpose for going online because i get amused by the things i see and explore on facebook. Surely its a way for escaping the pressures around us, but it is for us to know how to limit and balance our time in using this kind of SNS without sacrificing our priorities in life. 🙂

    September 28, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Leave a Reply

