for the SANDRINE

Predictions, Predictions

One day I was at the mall with my cousin when she told we can access free wifi in all areas of the mall. Wow, free internet. So I grabbed my phone and started Facebook-ing. It was at that point that I realized the internet is really reaching a lot of individuals today. And honestly, I got scared at the thought. I suddenly remembered the movie Wall-E wherein the humans were very fat and didn’t know each other. Well I’m not afraid of being fat. But I imagined that in the future, children wouldn’t be able to experience the wonders of life before the internet became God.

Later on, however, I thought I shouldn’t be worried. Back when the television was just new, some predicted that most people will just sit in their couches and watch TV 24/7. But this didn’t happen. You’re thinking, maybe because of the newer technologies such as cellular phones, game boys, and play stations that their prediction didn’t come to reality.

And some of you might be thinking now, this kind of prediction can happen in the case of the internet.

Pessimists think the internet will result in economic and cultural exploitation, the death of privacy, and a decline in values and social standards.

What else can you ask for? It’s all in the internet—your type of music, your favorite games, your friends, your business, everything.

It can happen to us, yes, if we let it be. What we can do is to ensure that we teach our children same values that were taught to us by our parents. With that we can be confident that the negative effects the internet has will not affect the lives of our children.

I suddenly remembered how sad I was one time at the thought that my younger brother didn’t want to play with me anymore because he’s too busy playing Dota and chatting with his girlfriend. I know, I know, I should accept the fact that he’s a grown up already but the point is, we’re not connecting anymore. I was having my vacation at that time and it was the only chance we could catch up on things. He doesn’t know what to prioritize yet.

If we let the internet talk to our younger brothers/sisters or children all day, these pessimists could win. I know there are a lot more complicated issues regarding the internet. And I’m the last person to ask for solutions about those. But I believe, as I have said, that teaching our children the right values will protect them from the dangers of internet. It is the most crucial part in solving the internet’s issues.

5 responses

  1. I think it boils down to our decision whether we should control the Internet or we let the Internet control us . We should be able to play it wisely so we can get the benefits with less troubles 🙂

    June 19, 2010 at 4:11 pm

  2. I agree with what you wrote. Values will win all the time, as long they are the correct ones. We have to remember that the internet is just another form of communication. WE are the ones that control it. We can direct its path, stop it, and most importantly, in the end, we are the ones interpreting its message.

    By the way, the fat people in Wall-E were cute, they had no fingers! XD

    June 19, 2010 at 5:58 pm

  3. It’s true that a lot of younger kids nowadays are heavy internet users. I can relate to your story because I had a similar experience with my youngest sibling. What’s more alarming though is that a lot of adults are also addicted to online gaming and using the internet all day. If that’s the case, then it’s no surprise that a lot of kids prefer internet over other things. I agree that adults should be more mindful of setting an example of how to use the internet in a healthy way and not to let it become a distractive habit.

    June 20, 2010 at 12:40 pm

  4. Like you, I also believe in the major role that parents/guardians are playing in their children’s lives. I firmly believe that as long as there are responsible indivduals who take time to teach children the values that will protect them from the negative effects of the internet and as long as these things are continuously being talked about in discussions like this one, the present and the future generation will not lose their way.

    I believe what we are doing right now, blogging about the issue and commenting on these posts, are ways of being proactive and not letting the pessimists win. Issues have to be brought up and discussed continually so that people will always be reminded that such issues exist.

    June 22, 2010 at 11:22 am

  5. Wall-e is one of my favorite Disney-Pixar movies of all time. Besides, the cute love story of Wall-e and Eva, it posed a drastic implication of the benefit of technology which we enjoy today. The cyberspace introduced a new “planet” for us through social networking sites and other web pages. We get too crowded and preoccupied by information of which credibility is uncertain to guarantee. It’s a whole new planet with it’s own set of realities. At the end of the day, it’s still up to us on how we make sense of what we see in the digital realm, with the truth as our armor.

    June 26, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Leave a Reply

